Disappointed

It’s really disappointing that after putting in a lot of effort for a photoshoot that I would receive a review like this. They gave me 1/5 stars and I can’t see why. Pretty harsh if you ask me. I guess you can’t please everyone, but I really do try my best. My rating has significantly decreased from this event, and if you’ve ever worked with me and were pleased I could really use some positive reviews…Please take a look at the family portrait and let me know if this was justifiable. Here is my Yelp.

We used Aaron for a outdoor family portrait. Although Aaron is personally very nice, the photos turned out poorly and there wasn’t one that we considered of good quality.  The lighting was extremely bright, forcing us to squint into the sunlight in every shot.  The overall composition of the poses were awkward and out of proportion.  When we expressed our disappointment we were told that we could have a photo edited to improve it.  The edited photo was only marginally better and still not the family portrait which we had been expecting.  Would not recommend.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/aaron-blumenshine-photography-san-jose

~ by adb23 on October 16, 2011.

7 Responses to “Disappointed”

  1. Wow. Did they even look at your work to understand your style? Sounds like they were expecting JCPenny work. Sorry man. You can’t please all of the people all of the time. I think the photo is rock star!

  2. Yet, I bet that photo will hang in their homes and get compliments for decades.

  3. Aaron…
    I’m so sorry you had such a negative review. I enjoy seeing your posts and your work. It’s very unique. Maybe the client didn’t see your portfolio? Maybe they wanted a more traditional family portrait? (Jcp 🙂 ) I really do love your work. Not just the poses, wide angles and generous views… but the perfect exposures and range of colors are awesome. I hope you get more positive feedback soon!

  4. wow, dude. that’s really brutal. of course, you can’t make everyone happy all the time, but I can’t imagine how or why you, of all people, could get 1 star on a review. I respect what you do and how you do it, man. just thought I’d let you know.

  5. I’ve cruised through a bunch of your work and consider it pretty brilliant. It does sound like they didn’t look at your portfolio at all, or if they did, they don’t understand that signature style will permeate any work you do. I’m sorry about this. It’s really unfortunate.

  6. That’s truly unfortunate. I agree with some other commentators—perhaps these folks did not understand what they were purchasing? It makes me think of a person who orders Unagi at a Japanese restaurant, only to be upset that it’s eel.

    I feel like the portrait is attractive, and certainly well-composed from a photographic standpoint. I especially like the simple and vivid color story. However, that’s my professional perspective as a designer. Most people looking at photographs of themselves only look at how “attractive” they appear to be in the photo, based on their own standards of beauty.

    What I guess I’m saying is, even if they did look at your portfolio, they likely didn’t hold the other photos—the other subjects—to the standard of attractiveness they were hoping for themselves. I’m not sure what the answer to that is… realism?

    Anyway, long rambling comment almost over, take heart: it’s a beautiful photo. All people have to do is see it.

  7. This is really just a matter of taste. I personally thing the family portrait was outstanding. Its a shame that the client could have at least give you a 3 star out of 5 based on her expectations but not on quality or professionalism.

Leave a Reply

 
