Five Years

I just wanted to take a moment and reflect on all that has changed in the last five years. I stumbled upon this old picture and a slew of memories followed. Five years ago I was shooting a self portrait in the mirror using candle light with a Canon 20d, I was 19 years old. It’s hard to believe how fast time has gone by… I bought my first digital camera ( a Canon 20d ) with a 1 gig CF card in Palo Alto at a store that doesn’t exist today, I was ecstatic about my purchase. I was working my way to being a business major in College even though most of my close friends thought I should do something art related. I was also the lab manager for a darkroom at my college, and taking way to many art electives! It’s just amazing to see how things change, how your style of photography goes though phases. It’s such an intense learning process, and there is no way to skip any of it. I love watching beginning photographers go though the same process, I can almost predict the next big trend they will stumble upon. Well, that’s enough rambling. I just want to thank everyone who takes time from their day to read my blog and support my passion, without all of you I’d have no one to share my imagination with. On the left I am 19 on the right 24.

~ by adb23 on April 14, 2010.

3 Responses to “Five Years”

  1. haha remember taking random pictures at my house way back when?

  2. Apparently your eye color also changed from brown to grey/green. I haven’t seen that many changes, considering not knowing you for that long, but it’s consistently inspiring to watch you turn a passion into reality, and create such dynamic art. Looking forward to collaborating with you in the future 🙂

  3. I take it this is the version of the shot below where all the lights worked right?

    I also think there was a lot more change from age 14-19 than 19 onward. Just saying… spiky blonde tips and whatnot. 😛

Leave a Reply

 
